Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 15th, 2008

pumpkin-bread-loaf

Organic Pumpkin Bread (Wheat and Gluten Free)

Don’t be afraid to vary the kind of flour used in some recipes. This is my mother’s original pumpkin bread recipe, which I traditionally make around Thanksgiving and Christmas. Since I am trying to reduce inflammation in my body – I am eliminating wheat from my diet. The original recipe called for 3 cups of plain white flour. I substituted half oat and half spelt flour. I was amazed at the taste of the pumpkin bread – and I do not miss the wheat! I was able to find all organic ingredients too. However you can easily use plain white flour and regular ingredients if you cannot find the organic ones.

This recipe will fill 2 regular loaf pans. However, I like to make the mini loaves and give as gifts. The recipe will make around 8 mini loaves, depending on the size of the little pans.

Sift together in large bowl these dry ingredients:

  • 1 ¾ cup organic oat flour
  • 1 ¾ cup organic spelt flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 Tablespoons cinnamon
  • 1 ½ teaspoons nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoon cloves

In another bowl mix these ingredients:pumpkin-bread-slice

  • 3 cups organic sugar
  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 4 organic eggs (slightly beaten)
  • 1 can organic pumpkin (or 2 cups frozen puree)

Add to liquid mixture:

  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts
  • 1 cup chopped dates

Now add liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients. Stir until well blended.

Bake at 350 degrees. The large loaves will take 50-60 minutes. The mini loaves will need at around 25-30 minutes. Bread is done when a clean toothpick insert in the middle comes out without batter on it.

Read Full Post »